Specfic Announers for Each Team-1967 was the Final Season

No one can complain about the coverage of Pro Football today. One thing I miss is the specific announcer format for each team. That set up does not fit with the increased mobility in our society. Here is what I remember from the mid 60s. CBS rotated announcers starting in 1968. The play-by-play man is first; where I can remember the analyst follows.

Western Division

Baltimore Colts-Chuck Thompson
Chicago Bears-Lindsay Nelson and George Connor
Detroit Lions-Van Patrick
Green Bay Packers-Ray Scott and Tony Canadeo
Los Angeles Rams-Gil Stratton and Don Paul
San Francisco-Bob Fouts and Gordy Solteau

Eastern Division

Cleveland Browns-Ken Coleman and Warren Lahr
New York Giants-Chris Schenkel and Johnny LuJack
Philadelphia Eagles-Jack Whitaker
Pittsburgh Steelers-Joe Tucker and Bill Burns
St. Louis Cardinals-Jack Drees
Washington Redskins-Jim Gibbons


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s